My Themeword 2010

I wanted, and have been attempting, to write a New Years Resolutions post as the new decade approached.  But I’ve been really struggling with it.  There is so much I would like to do and achieve.  As I started to compile the list it quickly felt so big I was ready to throw the towel in on the lot and the post got saved as draft and abandoned for another day.  If I can’t write the damn post I’m never going to achieve the resolutions in it! 

I discovered blogging and tweeting this year and want to do more and be better at both!  I also want to lose weight – of course and let’s not forget the other annual entries – work less, earn more, spend less, do more exercise, be more patience, swear less, watch less TV, spend less time on the PC, cook from scratch more, not drink during the week  … hang on Mr L is shouting me – A glass of wine you say?  Oh yes please!  … Save as draft!

That is how I got to 12th January with no post about my thoughts, goals and intentions for the new year and new decade.  Then I came across #Themeword (god bless twitter!) via Erica Douglas who created the #themeword meme in 2007.  To participate, all you have to do is just think about one word that you would like to describe your new year.  Allegedly your #themeword can unfold in unexpected ways!  So here goes …

My Themeword for 2010 is ENJOYMENT. 

I am going to ENJOY the now in 2010.  I’m not going to do things I don’t ENJOY or give time to things or people I don’t ENJOY.  Life is too short and my family and time with them too precious.  I want to ENJOY food and still be able to ENJOY smaller clothes!  I want to ENJOY my freelance work.  I want to ENJOY time with my children especially whilst they are so little.  I want to ENJOY time as a family.  I want to have time to ENJOY by myself.  Now whilst I hate laundry I do enjoy it being all done and my home clean and tidy, to get another cleaner would probably suggest I headed back to the workplace – so sadly I’m not off the hook on domestic chores, just to explain some of the small print I’ve made up for myself!

This is a meme so I am going to tag a few folk but if like me resolutions feel too much to commit to consider yourself tagged!  What’s great about this meme is if you don’t need a blog to post your thoughts, if you just tweet you can still join in!  I’d love to know what the following folk would have as their #Themewords

Jordan Fleet
Sarah Walters
Clare at Love Maternity
Claire over at The Good, The Bad & The Ugly
Wendy over at The Life of Wendy Wife
Dany at Tums2Mums
Bec over at Beetroot and Gherkins
Muddling Along Mummy
Violet Posy
Stefanie Hopkins
Bumbling Along

Search #themeword on Twitter to see everyone who has been Tweeting their #themeword.

Happy New Year!  Please feel free to post or link to your own themewords in the comments below!

8 Comments

Filed under Meme's & Tags, Personal & Family

8 responses to “My Themeword 2010

  1. That sounds fun – hope you achieve it!

  2. This is a good idea, and enjoyment is a great word for the year. I always have so many plans at the beginning of the year and life always takes over. But I have a year of planning and enjoyment with Baby Belle’s 1st birthday and my wedding so ‘enjoyment’ is very apt 🙂

  3. After a few minutes thought I have decided on FANTASTIC as my #themeword of 2010.
    Let’s see where that takes me!

    Hope your 2010 is filled with much ENJOYMENT.

  4. clareybabble

    What a great idea! I think my word would have to be ‘thankful’ as in be thankful for the things I have instead of worrying about what I don’t have. x

  5. Ooh, I like. I have made lot of work related resolutions, but no personal ones. But I like this idea. And a fab word you have chosen too.

    I hope you enjoy 2010 x

  6. Ok, after pondering this for a while I have decided upon FAMILY as my themeword for 2010.
    I am going to make the most of my current work set-up (am working part-time from home and husband also works from home) to spend as much time as possible with my little boy and be grateful for the huge amount of time we can all spend together.
    Due to my mother baby-sitting one morning a week I am also seeing her more regularly than before.
    Lastly, may also try for an addition to the family this year plus my sister is expecting a little girl in April – reasons to value family more than ever this year!

  7. After much contemplation, I’m picking FOCUS as my word for 2010, but close second is Enjoy!

    It’s been a challenge, but thanks for passing it on! Lets see how we all get on!

  8. Jordan

    I’ve decided that my #themeword is going to be APPRECIATE.

    I’ve had a rough last couple of weeks and i know i’m going to have a couple more before it’s all over, but what has got me through it is APPRECIATING all the things i have.

    I have a wonderful hubby, who has given me a wonderful son. I have lovely friends, some far, some near, some online, but all friends & i APPRECIATE them all.

    I live in a lovely house, in a lovely place. I have been on lovely holidays & have lovely holidays booked to go on.
    I’ve seen some amazing places, amazing sites & know that i will continue to do so.

    I don’t take any of this for granted, not by any means, but i am going to make sure i APPRECIATE everything, and everyone this year. I promise.

    Thank you for reading my post & for being my friends. I really APPRECIATE you.

Leave a Reply

