Its my birthday …

Ten years ago I was 26 years old.  I was single.  I was in London.  I had been celebrating my birthday for a week already and had more than two more weeks of Christmas parties to go! 

Today I am 36 years old.  I am married with a toddler and a 8 week old baby.  I am tired!

I am very much looking forward to my girls night out on Friday with two very special appearances from two great mates all the way from London and Egypt – let the good times roll!  For just a few hours we will pretend it is 10 years ago, quaff cocktails, totter in high heels, play dares and keep an eye out for good looking men, perhaps even flirt with some!

So if like me you are a Saggitarius and are celebrating your arrival in this world round about the same time as me let me wish you a Very Happy Birthday because I know having a birthday in December sucks!  Mr L’s is right at the beginning of January and these are RUBBISH times to have a birthday because …

  1. Everyone’s too busy, even those people who are never busy!
  2. Everyone’s skint
  3. Everywhere is packed with Christmas Do’s
  4. Everywhere has Christmas set menus
  5. The weather’s always terrible
  6. You can never get a cab home
  7. You get COMBINED presents
  8. Your birthday gifts get wrapped in Christmas wrapping paper
  9. If your birthday is after Christmas you get unwanted gifts passed on
  10. If during holiday fortnight you never get to have a party with school mates
  11. You are given Christmas decorations as gifts (addition by @StefanieHopkins)

For all the above reasons I have celebrated my birthday on the Saturday of the second bank holiday in May for the last six years and this year is no different and I am rainchecking turning this birthday until May 2010!

10 Comments

Filed under Personal & Family

10 responses to “Its my birthday …

  1. Happy Birthday! I like the idea of having two birthdays. Enjoy your night out x

  2. Happy Birthday. I am a December baby too (20th) and I so understand all of the above points!!!

    We always go to a Chinese or Indian for my birthday – No Turkey!!

  3. Happy Birthday! As a fellow Saggie I can totally empathise, birthdays at this time of year are rubbish. Point no. 7 is one of the worst for me. And do you find you get given Christmas decorations etc for your birthday? My family are the worst for that, it sucks!

  4. Emily O

    Happy birthday! I hope you get to let your hair down and have a great time. I sometimes feel bad bringing a child into the world at this time of year so their birthday is so close to Christmas. It’s often difficult to plan these things though! I guess it’s important to keep it separate from Christmas as much as you can. Have fun! x

  5. Abby

    My parents birthdays are in late December and early January so know what you mean. They always make a big thing of their August wedding aniversary for the reasons you mentioned. My older daughters birthday falls at the last May bank holiday, it has always been lovely weather that weekend for the last 6 years she has been around- excellent choice of alternative date! Happy Birthday, have a great night out xx

  6. Sarah Walters

    It’s just as bad for those that have to ‘hunt down a birthday card’ in December (only Christmas available, and sometimes Valentine Cards if the shops are hot on their marketing!!!)….

    I have the ‘pleasure’ of….
    Son – end Nov B’day
    MIL – end Nov B’day
    Hubby – Beg Dec B’day

    I love having a June B’day – parties on the beach, out in the garden etc……I can see why you changed your date 🙂

    Enjoy your time out anyway,…. the girlies will help you re-live the good old times 😉 and then you can come home and slip into your comfy PJs and slippers-safe in the knowledge that you can finally leave those singleton/man-hunting days behind!!!

    xxx

  7. Happy Birthday! Beginning of January here so you have my sympathies 🙂

    Hope you have a great birthday night out! xx

  8. @SandyCalico – totally recommend two birthdays!
    @TheMadHouse – have a great meal out & birthday on 20th Dec!
    @Stefanie – have added receiving decorations – my family do that too – soooooo annoying!
    @Emily O – arriving safely is all that matters, when is irrelevant – good luck!
    @Abby – the weather is always (touch wood!) spookily good isn’t it?!
    @Sarah Walters – looking forward to a June party invite!
    @Josie – thanks hun, happy birthday for early Jan!

  9. My brother is a Sagittarius but November so Xmas always seems far away from his birthday. My sis is early January but my mum made sure that her birthday was ALWAYS separate and that there were NEVER combined presents. I am sure despite that she’d love to have a second birthday. Which one do you actually get your presents on? I’m sure my sis would want us to conveniently forget we’d given her some in Jan and hope for more on b’day number 2 😉

Leave a Reply

